Home > Gadgets > My Dead Tab

My Dead Tab

My Samsung Galaxy Tab 10.1 is dead! It won’t power on no matter how long I charge it, or what combinations of buttons I press.

I bought it last August at Best Buy using a boatload of gift cards that I had racked up over a number of birthdays and holidays. When it stopped working Saturday evening, I panicked at first. After that initial panic ebbed, I did what any other gadget geek would do, Googled it. After reading dozens of forums and help pages (all of which had much the same info), I had tried everything to resolve the problem myself. Nothing worked. I became more and more concerned that this Tab was truly dead.

As a last resort, I deferred to the Samsung’s support website. I started through the guided troubleshooting process following all the steps (which I had already seen on multiple forums). When I got to the end and still didn’t have a working Tab, I hit the “Service Request” link. To my surprise, I had registered this device when I bought it (I don’t typically do that), and then I saw that it’s still under warranty!

After I stopped jumping up and down and whooping loudly, I apologized to my coworkers, then I boxed it up and shipped it back to Samsung to let them deal with it. Hopefully they can revive it, but if that fails, they better be sending me back a brand new one!

Hmmm…maybe they will run out of 16GB models and have to send me a 32GB replacement…or maybe a 64GB…  😀

  1. ~Gareth
    April 11, 2012 at 8:21 am

    Hi Bill – The same thing has happened to me! Just sent mine back today , hope they fix yours too! Let me know how it goes!

  2. April 15, 2012 at 10:47 am

    Reblogged this on thepoolehall and commented:

    I tracked the UPS shipment of my Tab every day since it left. I was relieved when it was delivered to the repair facility on Thursday. On Friday, I decided to check the status of my repair ticket on the Samsung support website. I got an error saying, “invalid number.” What!? I tried again later that day with the same result. I quickly found the phone number for Samsung and called them. I talked to a very helpful service rep who phoned the repair facility while I was on hold to make sure that my device had been received. It had indeed. She informed me that the system wouldn’t update until Monday, and that the total turn-around time for this type of repair is typically 7 to 10 business days including shipping time back to me. Cool.
    We’ll see what happens this week.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

